Everton's Record in 1985-86

 << 1984-85                  Click here for Appearances and Goals, the Final League Table and Cup Final Details                  1986-87 >> 

Click on the Opposition Team Name to See Line-Ups, etc
Manager:  Howard Kendall
Sat Aug 10
1985
3.00pm   C Shield   Man Utd W 2
-
0
  82,000   Steven T Heath A           (at Wembley)  
Sat Aug 17
1985
3.00pm   Div 1 A Leicester L 1
-
3
 19 16,932   Mountfield D  
Tue Aug 20
1985
7.30pm   Div 1 H West Brom W 2
-
0
 7 26,788   Heath A 2  
Sat Aug 24
1985
3.00pm   Div 1 H Coventry D 1
-
1
 11 27,691   Sharp G  
Mon Aug 26
1985
3.00pm   Div 1 A Tottenham W 1
-
0
 6 29,720   Lineker G  
Sat Aug 31
1985
3.00pm   Div 1 H Birmingham W 4
-
1
 5 28,066   Lineker G 3 Steven T (pen)  
Tue Sep 3
1985
7.30pm   Div 1 A Sheff Wed W 5
-
1
 2 30,065   Mountfield D Lineker G 2 Steven T Heath A  
Sat Sep 7
1985
3.00pm   Div 1 A Q.P.R. L 0
-
3
 4 16,544      
Sat Sep 14
1985
3.00pm   Div 1 H Luton W 2
-
0
 2 26,419   Sheedy K Sharp G  
Wed Sep 18
1985
7.30pm   SSSC Grp* A Man Utd W 4
-
2
  33,859   Lineker G Sharp G Sheedy K 2 ScSp 
Sat Sep 21
1985
3.00pm   Div 1 H Liverpool L 2
-
3
 6 51,509   Sharp G Lineker G  
Wed Sep 25
1985
7.30pm   LC 2:1 H Bournemouth W 3
-
2
  13,930   Lineker G Marshall I Heffernan T (og)  
Sat Sep 28
1985
3.00pm   Div 1 A Aston Villa D 0
-
0
 5 22,048      
Wed Oct 2
1985
7.30pm   SSSC Grp* H Norwich W 1
-
0
  10,329   Lineker G ScSp 
Sat Oct 5
1985
3.00pm   Div 1 H Oxford W 2
-
0
 4 24,553   Sharp G Bracewell P  
Tue Oct 8
1985
7.30pm   LC 2:2 A Bournemouth W 2
-
0
  8,081   Lineker G Richardson K        (agg 5-2)  
Sat Oct 12
1985
3.00pm   Div 1 A Chelsea L 1
-
2
 6 27,634   Sheedy K  
Sat Oct 19
1985
3.00pm   Div 1 H Watford W 4
-
1
 6 26,425   Heath A Sharp G 2 Bracewell P  
Wed Oct 23
1985
7.30pm   SSSC Grp* A Norwich L 0
-
1
  12,196     ScSp 
Sat Oct 26
1985
3.00pm   Div 1 A Man City D 1
-
1
 4 28,807   Heath A  
Tue Oct 29
1985
7.30pm   LC 3 A Shrewsbury W 4
-
1
  10,246   Sharp G Hughes D (og) Sheedy K Heath A  
Sat Nov 2
1985
3.00pm   Div 1 A West Ham L 1
-
2
 7 23,844   Steven T  
Sat Nov 9
1985
3.00pm   Div 1 H Arsenal W 6
-
1
 6 28,620   Lineker G 2 Heath A 2 Steven T (pen)  
                                Sharp G  
Sat Nov 16
1985
3.00pm   Div 1 A Ipswich W 4
-
3
 6 13,910   Heath A Sharp G Sheedy K Steven T (pen)  
Sat Nov 23
1985
3.00pm   Div 1 H Nottm Forest D 1
-
1
 6 27,860   Bracewell P  
Tue Nov 26
1985
7.30pm   LC 4 A Chelsea D 2
-
2
  27,544   Sheedy K Bracewell P  
Sat Nov 30
1985
3.00pm   Div 1 A Southampton W 3
-
2
 6 16,917   Lineker G Heath A Steven T  
Wed Dec 4
1985
7.30pm   SSSC Grp* H Man Utd W 1
-
0
  20,542   Stapleton F (og) ScSp 
Sat Dec 7
1985
3.00pm   Div 1 A West Brom W 3
-
0
 6 12,206   Sheedy K Van Den Hauwe P Lineker G  
Tue Dec 10
1985
7.30pm   LC 4 Rep H Chelsea L 1
-
2
  26,373   Lineker G  
Sat Dec 14
1985
3.00pm   Div 1 H Leicester L 1
-
2
 6 23,347   Richardson K  
Sat Dec 21
1985
3.00pm   Div 1 A Coventry W 3
-
1
 6 11,059   Lineker G 2 Sharp G  
Thur Dec 26
1985
3.00pm   Div 1 H Man Utd W 3
-
1
 5 42,551   Sharp G 2 Lineker G  
Sat Dec 28
1985
3.00pm   Div 1 H Sheff Wed W 3
-
1
 3 41,536   Stevens G Lineker G 2  
Wed Jan 1
1986
3.00pm   Div 1 A Newcastle D 2
-
2
 2 27,820   Steven T Sharp G (pen)  
Sun Jan 5
1986
2.30pm   FAC 3 H Exeter W 1
-
0
  22,726   Stevens G  
Sat Jan 11
1986
3.00pm   Div 1 H Q.P.R. W 4
-
3
 2 26,015   Sharp G 2 (1 pen) Lineker G Wilkinson P  
Sat Jan 18
1986
3.00pm   Div 1 A Birmingham W 2
-
0
 2 10,502   Lineker G 2  
Sat Jan 25
1986
3.00pm   FAC 4 H Blackburn W 3
-
1
  41,831   Van Den Hauwe P Lineker G 2  
Sat Feb 1
1986
3.00pm   Div 1 H Tottenham W 1
-
0
 1 33,178   Reid P  
Wed Feb 5
1986
7.30pm   SSSC SF:1* A Tottenham D 0
-
0
  7,548     ScSp 
Tue Feb 11
1986
7.30pm   Div 1 H Man City W 4
-
0
 1 30,006   Lineker G 3 Sharp G  
Sat Feb 22
1986
3.00pm   Div 1 A Liverpool W 2
-
0
 1 45,445   Ratcliffe K Lineker G  
Sat Mar 1
1986
3.00pm   Div 1 H Aston Villa W 2
-
0
 1 32,133   Sharp G Lineker G  
Tue Mar 4
1986
8.00pm   FAC 5 A Tottenham W 2
-
1
  23,338   Heath A Lineker G  
Sat Mar 8
1986
3.00pm   FAC QF A Luton D 2
-
2
  15,529   Sharp G  Heath A  
Wed Mar 12
1986
7.30pm   FAC QF Rep H Luton W 1
-
0
  44,264   Lineker G  
Sun Mar 16
1986
2.35pm   Div 1 H Chelsea D 1
-
1
 1 30,145   Sheedy K ITV 
Wed Mar 19
1986
7.30pm   SSSC SF:2* H Tottenham W 3
-
1
  12,008   Mountfield D Heath A Sharp G ScSp 
                                (aet - agg 3-1)  
Sat Mar 22
1986
3.00pm   Div 1 A Luton L 1
-
2
 1 10,949   Richardson K  
Sat Mar 29
1986
3.00pm   Div 1 H Newcastle W 1
-
0
 1 41,116   Richardson K  
Mon Mar 31
1986
3.00pm   Div 1 A Man Utd D 0
-
0
 2 51,189      
Sat Apr 5
1986
3.00pm   FAC SF   Sheff Wed W 2
-
1
  47,711   Harper A Sharp G    (aet - at Villa Park)  
Sat Apr 12
1986
3.00pm   Div 1 A Arsenal W 1
-
0
 2 28,251   Heath A  
Tue Apr 15
1986
7.45pm   Div 1 A Watford W 2
-
0
 1 18,960   Lineker G Sharp G  
Sat Apr 19
1986
3.00pm   Div 1 H Ipswich W 1
-
0
 2 39,055   Sharp G  
Sat Apr 26
1986
3.00pm   Div 1 A Nottm Forest D 0
-
0
 2 30,171      
Wed Apr 30
1986
7.30pm   Div 1 A Oxford L 0
-
1
 3 13,939      
Sat May 3
1986
3.00pm   Div 1 H Southampton W 6
-
1
 3 33,057   Mountfield D Steven T Lineker G 3  
                                Sharp G  
Mon May 5
1986
7.30pm   Div 1 H West Ham W 3
-
1
 2 40,073   Lineker G 2 Steven T (pen)  
Sat May 10
1986
3.00pm   FAC Final   Liverpool L 1
-
3
  98,000   Lineker G           (at Wembley) BBC/ 
ITV

* SSSC = Screen Sport Super Cup. The Final took place during the following season.

League position is at the end of the day on which Everton played.

The end column indicates when a match was shown live on UK TV and on which channel:
ScSp = Screensport TV