Everton's Record in 1978-79

 << 1977-78                  Click here for Appearances and Goals, the Final League Table and Cup Final Details                  1979-80 >> 

Click on the Opposition Team Name to See Line-Ups, etc
Manager:  Gordon Lee
Sat Aug 19
1978
Div 1 A Chelsea W 1
-
0
32,683   King A
Tue Aug 22
1978
Div 1 H Derby W 2
-
1
40,125   King A  Nulty G
Sat Aug 26
1978
Div 1 H Arsenal W 1
-
0
41,161   Thomas D
Tue Aug 29
1978
LC 2 H Wimbledon W 8
-
0
23,137   Latchford B 5 (1 pen)  Dobson M 3
Sat Sep 2
1978
Div 1 A Man Utd D 1
-
1
53,982   King A
Sat Sep 9
1978
Div 1 H Middlesbrough W 2
-
0
36,191   Dobson M  Lyons M
Tue Sep 12
1978
UEFAC 1:1 A Finn Harps W 5
-
0
5,000   Thomas D  King A 2  Latchford B 
                          Walsh Mickey
Sat Sep 16
1978
Div 1 A Aston Villa D 1
-
1
38,636   Walsh Mickey
Sat Sep 23
1978
Div 1 H Wolves W 2
-
0
38,895   King A (pen)  Latchford B
Tue Sep 26
1978
UEFAC 1:2 H Finn Harps W 5
-
0
21,611   King A  Latchford B  Walsh Mickey 
                          Ross T  Dobson M    (agg 10-0)
Sat Sep 30
1978
Div 1 A Bristol City D 2
-
2
22,502   Latchford B 2
Tue Oct 3
1978
LC 3 H Darlington W 1
-
0
23,682   Dobson M
Sat Oct 7
1978
Div 1 H Southampton D 0
-
0
38,769  
Sat Oct 14
1978
Div 1 A Ipswich W 1
-
0
22,830   Latchford B
Wed Oct 18
1978
UEFAC 2:1 H Dukla Prague W 2
-
1
32,857   Latchford B  King A
Sat Oct 21
1978
Div 1 A Q.P.R. D 1
-
1
21,171   Latchford B
Sat Oct 28
1978
Div 1 H Liverpool W 1
-
0
53,141   King A
Wed Nov 1
1978
UEFAC 2:2 A Dukla Prague L 0
-
1
35,000   (agg 2-2 lost away gls)
Sat Nov 4
1978
Div 1 A Nottm Forest D 0
-
0
35,515  
Tue Nov 7
1978
LC 4 H Nottm Forest L 2
-
3
48,503   Burns K (og)  Latchford B
Sat Nov 11
1978
Div 1 H Chelsea W 3
-
2
38,346   Dobson M 2  King A
Sat Nov 18
1978
Div 1 A Arsenal D 2
-
2
39,711   Dobson M  Ross T
Tue Nov 21
1978
Div 1 H Man Utd W 3
-
0
42,126   King A  Latchford B  Ross T
Sat Nov 25
1978
Div 1 A Norwich W 1
-
0
18,930   Lyons M
Sat Dec 9
1978
Div 1 A Birmingham W 3
-
1
23,391   Latchford B  Ross T (pen)  Todd C
Sat Dec 16
1978
Div 1 H Leeds D 1
-
1
37,997   Ross T
Sat Dec 23
1978
Div 1 A Coventry L 2
-
3
22,778   Latchford B  Lyons M
Tue Dec 26
1978
Div 1 H Man City W 1
-
0
46,996   Wright Billy
Sat Dec 30
1978
Div 1 H Tottenham D 1
-
1
44,572   Lyons M
Wed Jan 10
1979
FAC 3 A Sunderland L 1
-
2
28,602   Dobson M
Wed Jan 31
1979
Div 1 H Aston Villa D 1
-
1
29,079   Thomas D
Sat Feb 3
1979
Div 1 A Wolves L 0
-
1
21,892  
Sat Feb 10
1979
Div 1 H Bristol City W 4
-
1
29,116   King A 3  Wright Billy
Sat Feb 17
1979
Div 1 A Southampton L 0
-
3
20,681  
Sat Feb 24
1979
Div 1 H Ipswich L 0
-
1
29,031  
Sat Mar 3
1979
Div 1 H Q.P.R. W 2
-
1
24,809   Latchford B  Telfer G
Tue Mar 6
1979
Div 1 A Middlesbrough W 2
-
1
16,084   Jack R  Latchford B
Sat Mar 10
1979
Div 1 H Nottm Forest D 1
-
1
37,745   Telfer G
Tue Mar 13
1979
Div 1 A Liverpool D 1
-
1
52,352   King A
Sat Mar 24
1979
Div 1 A Derby D 0
-
0
20,814  
Fri Mar 30
1979
Div 1 H Norwich D 2
-
2
26,825   Lyons M 2
Tue Apr 3
1979
Div 1 A Bolton L 1
-
3
27,263   Ross T (pen)
Sat Apr 7
1979
Div 1 A West Brom L 0
-
1
29,593  
Tue Apr 10
1979
Div 1 H Coventry D 3
-
3
25,302   Kidd B  Latchford B  Ross T
Sat Apr 14
1979
Div 1 A Man City D 0
-
0
39,711  
Mon Apr 16
1979
Div 1 H Bolton W 1
-
0
31,214   Higgins M
Sat Apr 21
1979
Div 1 A Leeds L 0
-
1
29,125  
Sat Apr 28
1979
Div 1 H Birmingham W 1
-
0
23,048   King A
Tue May 1
1979
Div 1 H West Brom L 0
-
2
30,083  
Sat May 5
1979
Div 1 A Tottenham D 1
-
1
26,077   Kidd B