Everton's Record in 1977-78

 << 1976-77                  Click here for Appearances and Goals, the Final League Table and Cup Final Details                  1978-79 >> 

Click on the Opposition Team Name to See Line-Ups, etc
Manager:  Gordon Lee
Sat Aug 20
1977
Div 1 H Nottm Forest L 1
-
3
38,001   Pearson J
Tue Aug 23
1977
Div 1 A Arsenal L 0
-
1
32,954  
Sat Aug 27
1977
Div 1 A Aston Villa W 2
-
1
37,806   McKenzie D 2
Tue Aug 30
1977
LC 2 A Sheff Utd W 3
-
0
18,571   King A  Latchford B  McKenzie D
Sat Sep 3
1977
Div 1 H Wolves D 0
-
0
36,636  
Sat Sep 10
1977
Div 1 A Leicester W 5
-
1
16,425   King A 2  Latchford B  McKenzie D 
                          Thomas D
Sat Sep 17
1977
Div 1 H Norwich W 3
-
0
34,405   Rioch B  Dobson M  McKenzie D
Sat Sep 24
1977
Div 1 A West Ham D 1
-
1
25,296   McKenzie D
Sat Oct 1
1977
Div 1 H Man City D 1
-
1
43,286   Latchford B
Tue Oct 4
1977
Div 1 H West Brom W 3
-
1
34,582   Higgins M  King A (pen)  Latchford B
Sat Oct 8
1977
Div 1 A Q.P.R. W 5
-
1
20,495   Latchford B 4  McKenzie D
Sat Oct 15
1977
Div 1 H Bristol City W 1
-
0
39,230   King A
Sat Oct 22
1977
Div 1 A Liverpool D 0
-
0
51,668  
Tue Oct 25
1977
LC 3 H Middlesbrough D 2
-
2
32,766   King A  Telfer G
Sat Oct 29
1977
Div 1 H Newcastle D 4
-
4
37,644   Pejic M  Lyons M  Latchford B 2
Mon Oct 31
1977
LC 3 Rep A Middlesbrough W 2
-
1
28,500   Lyons M  Pearson J
Sat Nov 5
1977
Div 1 A Derby W 1
-
0
29,335   Lyons M
Sat Nov 12
1977
Div 1 H Birmingham W 2
-
1
37,743   Latchford B 2
Sat Nov 19
1977
Div 1 A Ipswich D 3
-
3
22,790   Lyons M  Buckley M  Pearson J
Sat Nov 26
1977
Div 1 H Coventry W 6
-
0
43,309   King A  Dobson M  Latchford B 3 
                          Pearson J
Tue Nov 29
1977
LC 4 A Sheff Wed W 3
-
1
36,079   Lyons M  Dobson M  Pearson J
Sat Dec 3
1977
Div 1 A Chelsea W 1
-
0
33,890   Latchford B
Sat Dec 10
1977
Div 1 H Middlesbrough W 3
-
0
38,647   Buckley M  Latchford B 2
Sat Dec 17
1977
Div 1 A Birmingham D 0
-
0
22,177  
Mon Dec 26
1977
Div 1 H Man Utd L 2
-
6
48,335   Dobson M  Latchford B
Tue Dec 27
1977
Div 1 A Leeds L 1
-
3
46,727   Dobson M
Sat Dec 31
1977
Div 1 H Arsenal W 2
-
0
47,035   King A  Latchford B
Mon Jan 2
1978
Div 1 A Nottm Forest D 1
-
1
44,030   Ross T (pen)
Sat Jan 7
1978
FAC 3 H Aston Villa W 4
-
1
46,320   Ross T (pen)  King A  Latchford B
     
 
         
 
 
    McKenzie D
Sat Jan 14
1978
Div 1 H Aston Villa W 1
-
0
40,630   King A
Wed Jan 18
1978
LC QF A Leeds L 1
-
4
35,020   Thomas D
Sat Jan 21
1978
Div 1 A Wolves L 1
-
3
23,777   Ross T (pen)
Sat Jan 28
1978
FAC 4 A Middlesbrough L 2
-
3
33,652   Lyons M  Telfer G
Sat Feb 4
1978
Div 1 H Leicester W 2
-
0
33,707   Latchford B 2
Sat Feb 18
1978
Div 1 H West Ham W 2
-
1
33,826   McKenzie D  Thomas D
Sat Feb 25
1978
Div 1 A Man City L 0
-
1
46,817  
Sat Mar 4
1978
Div 1 H Q.P.R. D 3
-
3
33,861   Ross T  King A  Dobson M
Sat Mar 11
1978
Div 1 A Bristol City W 1
-
0
25,614   Ross T
Wed Mar 15
1978
Div 1 A Norwich D 0
-
0
18,905  
Fri Mar 24
1978
Div 1 A Newcastle W 2
-
0
28,933   Latchford B  McKenzie D
Sat Mar 25
1978
Div 1 H Leeds W 2
-
0
45,020   Latchford B  McKenzie D
Mon Mar 27
1978
Div 1 A Man Utd W 2
-
1
55,277   Latchford B 2
Sat Apr 1
1978
Div 1 H Derby W 2
-
1
38,213   Dobson M  Latchford B
Wed Apr 5
1978
Div 1 H Liverpool L 0
-
1
52,759  
Sat Apr 8
1978
Div 1 A Coventry L 2
-
3
26,008   Lyons M  Latchford B
Sat Apr 15
1978
Div 1 H Ipswich W 1
-
0
33,402   Latchford B (pen)
Sat Apr 22
1978
Div 1 A Middlesbrough D 0
-
0
15,969  
Tue Apr 25
1978
Div 1 A West Brom L 1
-
3
20,247   Telfer G
Sat Apr 29
1978
Div 1 H Chelsea W 6
-
0
39,500   Latchford B 2 (1 pen)  Dobson M  Lyons M 
                          Robinson N  Wright Billy