Everton's Record in 1987-88

 << 1986-87                  Click here for Appearances and Goals, the Final League Table and Cup Final Details                  1988-89 >> 

Click on the Opposition Team Name to See Line-Ups, etc
Manager:  Colin Harvey
Sat Aug 1
1987
C Shield   Coventry W 1
-
0
88,000   Clarke W        (at Wembley)
Sat Aug 15
1987
Div 1 H Norwich W 1
-
0
31,728   Power P
Tue Aug 18
1987
Div 1 A Wimbledon D 1
-
1
7,763   Sharp G
Sat Aug 22
1987
Div 1 A Nottm Forest D 0
-
0
20,445  
Sat Aug 29
1987
Div 1 H Sheff Wed W 4
-
0
29,649   Clarke W 2  Steven T 2 (1 pen)
Wed Sep 2
1987
Div 1 A Q.P.R. L 0
-
1
15,380  
Sat Sep 5
1987
Div 1 H Tottenham D 0
-
0
32,389  
Sat Sep 12
1987
Div 1 A Luton L 1
-
2
8,124   Pointon N
Sat Sep 19
1987
Div 1 H Man Utd W 2
-
1
38,439   Clarke W 2
Tue Sep 22
1987
LC 2:1 H Rotherham W 3
-
2
15,369   Snodin I  Wilson I  Clarke W (pen)
Sat Sep 26
1987
Div 1 H Coventry L 1
-
2
28,153   Clarke W
Sat Oct 3
1987
Div 1 A Southampton W 4
-
0
15,719   Sharp G 4
Tue Oct 6
1987
LC 2:2 A Rotherham D 0
-
0
12,995   (agg 3-2)
Sat Oct 10
1987
Div 1 H Chelsea W 4
-
1
32,004   Sharp G 2  Heath A 2    
Sat Oct 17
1987
Div 1 A Newcastle D 1
-
1
20,266   Snodin I
Sat Oct 24
1987
Div 1 H Watford W 2
-
0
28,501   Heath A  Sharp G
Wed Oct 28
1987
LC 3 A Liverpool W 1
-
0
44,071   Stevens G
Sun Nov 1
1987
Div 1 A Liverpool L 0
-
2
44,760  
Sat Nov 14
1987
Div 1 H West Ham W 3
-
1
29,405   Watson D  Reid P  Sharp G
Tue Nov 17
1987
LC 4 H Oldham W 2
-
1
23,315   Watson D  Adams N
Sat Nov 21
1987
Div 1 A Portsmouth W 1
-
0
17,724   Sharp G
Wed Nov 25
1987
MC FL CC* H Bayern Munich W 3
-
1
13,083   Sharp G 2  Heath A
Sat Nov 28
1987
Div 1 H Oxford D 0
-
0
25,443  
Sat Dec 5
1987
Div 1 A Charlton D 0
-
0
7,208  
Tue Dec 8
1987
DCC** G Rangers D 2
-
2
8,000   Watson D  Sheedy K
     
 
       
 
 
    (in Dubai - lost 8-7 on pens)
Sat Dec 12
1987
Div 1 H Derby W 3
-
0
26,224   Snodin I  Steven T (pen)  Heath A
Sat Dec 19
1987
Div 1 A Arsenal D 1
-
1
34,857   Watson D
Sat Dec 26
1987
Div 1 H Luton W 2
-
0
32,242   Heath A 2
Mon Dec 28
1987
Div 1 A Man Utd L 1
-
2
47,024   Watson D
Fri Jan 1
1988
Div 1 A Sheff Wed L 0
-
1
26,443  
Sun Jan 3
1988
Div 1 H Nottm Forest W 1
-
0
21,680   Clarke W
Sat Jan 9
1988
FAC 3 A Sheff Wed D 1
-
1
33,304   Reid P
Wed Jan 13
1988
FAC 3 Rep H Sheff Wed D 1
-
1
32,935   Sharp G       (aet)
Sat Jan 16
1988
Div 1 A Norwich W 3
-
0
15,750   Sharp G 2  Heath A
Wed Jan 20
1988
LC QF H Man City W 2
-
0
40,014   Heath A  Sharp G
Mon Jan 25
1988
FAC 3 2nd Rep H Sheff Wed D 1
-
1
37,414   Steven T       (aet)
Wed Jan 27
1988
FAC 3 3rd Rep A Sheff Wed W 5
-
0
38,953   Sharp G 3  Heath A  Snodin I
Sat Jan 30
1988
FAC 4 H Middlesbrough D 1
-
1
36,564   Sharp G
Wed Feb 3
1988
FAC 4 Rep A Middlesbrough D 2
-
2
25,235   Watson D  Steven T       (aet)
Sun Feb 7
1988
LC SF:1 H Arsenal L 0
-
1
25,476  
Tue Feb 9
1988
FAC 4 2nd Rep H Middlesbrough W 2
-
1
32,222   Sharp G  Mowbray T (og)
Sat Feb 13
1988
Div 1 H Q.P.R. W 2
-
0
24,724   Parker P (og)  Pointon N
Tue Feb 16
1988
SimC 3*** H Luton L 1
-
2
5,204   Power P
Sun Feb 21
1988
FAC 5 H Liverpool L 0
-
1
48,270  
Wed Feb 24
1988
LC SF:2 A Arsenal L 1
-
3
51,148   Heath A        (agg 1-4)
Sat Feb 27
1988
Div 1 H Southampton W 1
-
0
20,764   Power P
Sat Mar 5
1988
Div 1 H Newcastle W 1
-
0
25,674   Clarke W
Wed Mar 9
1988
Div 1 A Tottenham L 1
-
2
18,662   Fenwick T (og)
Sat Mar 12
1988
Div 1 A Chelsea D 0
-
0
17,390  
Sun Mar 20
1988
Div 1 H Liverpool W 1
-
0
44,162   Clarke W
Sat Mar 26
1988
Div 1 A Watford W 2
-
1
13,503   Sheedy K  Clarke W
Tue Mar 29
1988
Div 1 H Wimbledon D 2
-
2
20,351   Steven T (pen)  Pointon N
Mon Apr 4
1988
Div 1 A West Ham D 0
-
0
21,195  
Sat Apr 9
1988
Div 1 H Portsmouth W 2
-
1
21,292   Heath A  Steven T
Sat Apr 16
1988
MCFF 1**** Wolves D 1
-
1
40,000
  Clarke W
     
 
       
 
 
 
  (at Wembley - won 3-2 on pens)
Sat Apr 16
1988
MCFF 2**** Man Utd L 0
-
1
60,000
  (at Wembley)
Tue Apr 19
1988
Div 1 A Coventry W 2
-
1
15,641   Sharp G  Heath A
Sat Apr 23
1988
Div 1 A Oxford D 1
-
1
7,619   Clarke W
Sat Apr 30
1988
Div 1 H Charlton D 1
-
1
20,372   Steven T (pen)
Mon May 2
1988
Div 1 A Derby D 0
-
0
17,974  
Sat May 7
1988
Div 1 H Arsenal L 1
-
2
22,445   Watson D

*      MC FL CC = Mercantile Credit Football League Centenary Challenge
**    DCC = Dubai Champions Cup, an unofficial British Championship match.
       It doesn't feature in official statistics and is included here simply for information purposes.
***   SimC = Simod Cup
**** MCFF = Mercantile Credit Football Festival, a Football League centenary tournament played over 2 days
       at Wembley.   All of the 1st and 2nd Round matches were of 40 minutes duration each.
      The tournament doesn't feature in official statistics and is included here simply for information purposes.