Everton's Record in 1984-85

 << 1983-84                  Click here for Appearances and Goals, the Final League Table and Cup Final Details                  1985-86 >> 

Click on the Opposition Team Name to See Line-Ups, etc
Manager:  Howard Kendall
Sat Aug 18
1984
3.00pm   C Shield   Liverpool W 1
-
0
  100,000   Grobbelaar B (og)       (at Wembley)  
Sat Aug 25
1984
3.00pm   Div 1 H Tottenham L 1
-
4
 22 35,630   Heath A (pen)  
Mon Aug 27
1984
7.30pm   Div 1 A West Brom L 1
-
2
 21 13,464   Heath A (pen)  
Fri Aug 31
1984
7.15pm   Div 1 A Chelsea W 1
-
0
 12 17,734   Richardson K BBC 
Tue Sep 4
1984
7.30pm   Div 1 H Ipswich D 1
-
1
 =15 22,314   Heath A  
Sat Sep 8
1984
3.00pm   Div 1 H Coventry W 2
-
1
 13 20,013   Sharp G  Steven T  
Sat Sep 15
1984
3.00pm   Div 1 A Newcastle W 3
-
2
 5 26,944   Gray A  Sheedy K  Steven T  
Wed Sep 19
1984
*8.00pm   ECWC 1:1 A UC Dublin D 0
-
0
  9,750      
Sat Sep 22
1984
3.00pm   Div 1 H Southampton D 2
-
2
 6 22,354   Mountfield D  Sharp G  
Wed Sep 26
1984
7.30pm   LC 2:1 A Sheff Utd D 2
-
2
  16,345   Sharp G  Mountfield D  
Sat Sep 29
1984
3.00pm   Div 1 A Watford W 5
-
4
 6 18,335   Heath A 2  Mountfield D  Sharp G  
                                Steven T  
Tue Oct 2
1984
7.30pm   ECWC 1:2 H UC Dublin W 1
-
0
  16,277   Sharp G       (agg 1-0)  
Sat Oct 6
1984
3.00pm   Div 1 A Arsenal L 0
-
1
 8 37,049      
Wed Oct 10
1984
7.30pm   LC 2:2 H Sheff Utd W 4
-
0
  18,740   Mountfield D  Bracewell P  Sharp G   
                                Heath A       (agg 6-2)  
Sat Oct 13
1984
3.00pm   Div 1 H Aston Villa W 2
-
1
 6 25,089   Heath A  Sharp G  
Sat Oct 20
1984
3.00pm   Div 1 A Liverpool W 1
-
0
 4 45,545   Sharp G  
Wed Oct 24
1984
*5.00pm   ECWC 2:1 A Inter Bratislava W 1
-
0
  15,000   Bracewell P  
Sat Oct 27
1984
3.00pm   Div 1 H Man Utd W 5
-
0
 2 40,769   Heath A  Sharp G  Sheedy K 2  
                                Stevens G  
Tue Oct 30
1984
7.45pm   LC 3 A Man Utd W 2
-
1
  50,918   Sharp G (pen)  Gidman J (og)  
Sat Nov 3
1984
3.00pm   Div 1 H Leicester W 3
-
0
 1 27,784   Heath A  Sheedy K  Steven T  
Wed Nov 7
1984
7.30pm   ECWC 2:2 H Inter Bratislava W 3
-
0
  25,007   Heath A  Sharp G  Sheedy K  
                                (agg 4-0)  
Sat Nov 10
1984
3.00pm   Div 1 A West Ham W 1
-
0
 1 24,089   Heath A  
Sat Nov 17
1984
3.00pm   Div 1 H Stoke W 4
-
0
 1 26,705   Heath A 2  Reid P  Steven T  
Tue Nov 20
1984
7.30pm   LC 4 H Grimsby L 0
-
1
  26,298      
Sat Nov 24
1984
3.00pm   Div 1 A Norwich L 2
-
4
 1 16,925   Sharp G  Sheedy K  
Sat Dec 1
1984
3.00pm   Div 1 H Sheff Wed D 1
-
1
 1 35,440   Sharp G (pen)  
Sat Dec 8
1984
3.00pm   Div 1 A Q.P.R. D 0
-
0
 1 14,338      
Sat Dec 15
1984
3.00pm   Div 1 H Nottm Forest W 5
-
0
 1 22,487   Reid P  Sharp G 2  Sheedy K  
                                Steven T  
Sat Dec 22
1984
3.00pm   Div 1 H Chelsea L 3
-
4
 3 29,887   Bracewell P  Sharp G 2 (2 pens)  
Wed Dec 26
1984
3.00pm   Div 1 A Sunderland W 2
-
1
 2 19,714   Mountfield D 2  
Sat Dec 29
1984
3.00pm   Div 1 A Ipswich W 2
-
0
 2 16,045   Sharp G 2  
Tue Jan 1
1985
3.00pm   Div 1 H Luton W 2
-
1
 2 31,682   Steven T 2  
Fri Jan 4
1985
7.15pm   FAC 3 A Leeds W 2
-
0
  21,211   Sharp G (pen)  Sheedy K BBC 
Sat Jan 12
1985
3.00pm   Div 1 H Newcastle W 4
-
0
 1 32,156   Mountfield D  Sharp G  Sheedy K 2  
Sat Jan 26
1985
3.00pm   FAC 4 H Doncaster W 2
-
0
  37,537   Steven T  Stevens G  
Sat Feb 2
1985
3.00pm   Div 1 H Watford W 4
-
0
 1 34,026   Sheedy K  Stevens G 2  Steven T  
Sat Feb 16
1985
3.00pm   FAC 5 H Telford W 3
-
0
  47,402   Reid P  Sheedy K (pen)  Steven T  
Sat Feb 23
1985
3.00pm   Div 1 A Leicester W 2
-
1
 1 17,345   Gray A 2  
Sat Mar 2
1985
3.00pm   Div 1 A Man Utd D 1
-
1
 1 51,150   Mountfield D  
Wed Mar 6
1985
7.30pm   ECWC QF:1 H Fortuna Sittard W 3
-
0
  25,782   Gray A 3  
Sat Mar 9
1985
3.00pm   FAC QF H Ipswich D 2
-
2
  36,468   Sheedy K  Mountfield D  
Wed Mar 13
1985
7.30pm   FAC QF Rep A Ipswich W 1
-
0
  27,737   Sharp G (pen)  
Sat Mar 16
1985
3.00pm   Div 1 A Aston Villa D 1
-
1
 1 22,625   Richardson K  
Wed Mar 20
1985
*6.30pm   ECWC QF:2 A Fortuna Sittard W 2
-
0
  16,425   Reid P  Sharp G        (agg 5-0)  
Sat Mar 23
1985
3.00pm   Div 1 H Arsenal W 2
-
0
 1 36,387   Gray A  Sharp G  
Sat Mar 30
1985
3.00pm   Div 1 A Southampton W 2
-
1
 1 18,754   Richardson K 2  
Wed Apr 3
1985
8.00pm   Div 1 A Tottenham W 2
-
1
 1 48,108   Gray A  Steven T  
Sat Apr 6
1985
3.00pm   Div 1 H Sunderland W 4
-
1
 1 35,978   Gray A 2  Sharp G  Steven T  
Wed Apr 10
1985
*7.00pm   ECWC SF:1 A Bayern Munich D 0
-
0
  67,000      
Sat Apr 13
1985
3.00pm   FAC SF   Luton W 2
-
1
  45,289   Sheedy K  Mountfield D       
                                (aet - at Villa Park)  
Tue Apr 16
1985
7.30pm   Div 1 H West Brom W 4
-
1
 1 29,750   Atkins I  Sharp G 2 (1 pen)  Sheedy K  
Sat Apr 20
1985
3.00pm   Div 1 A Stoke W 2
-
0
 1 18,258   Sharp G  Sheedy K  
Wed Apr 24
1985
7.30pm   ECWC SF:2 H Bayern Munich W 3
-
1
  49,476   Sharp G  Gray A  Steven T  (agg 3-1)  
Sat Apr 27
1985
3.00pm   Div 1 H Norwich W 3
-
0
 1 32,085   Bracewell P  Mountfield D  Steven T  
Sat May 4
1985
3.00pm   Div 1 A Sheff Wed W 1
-
0
 1 37,381   Gray A  
Mon May 6
1985
3.00pm   Div 1 H Q.P.R. W 2
-
0
 1 50,514   Mountfield D  Sharp G  
Wed May 8
1985
7.30pm   Div 1 H West Ham W 3
-
0
 1 32,657   Gray A  Mountfield D 2  
Sat May 11
1985
3.00pm   Div 1 A Nottm Forest L 0
-
1
 1 18,784      
Wed May 15
1985
*7.15pm   ECWC Final   Rapid Vienna W 3
-
1
  40,000   Gray A  Steven T  Sheedy K        ITV 
                                (at Rotterdam)  
Sat May 18
1985
3.00pm   FAC Final   Man Utd L 0
-
1
  100,000   (aet - at Wembley) BBC/ 
ITV 
Thu May 23
1985
7.30pm   Div 1 H Liverpool W 1
-
0
 1 51,045   Wilkinson P  
Sun May 26
1985
11.30am   Div 1 A Coventry L 1
-
4
 1 21,224   Wilkinson P  
Tue May 28
1985
7.45pm   Div 1 A Luton L 0
-
2
 1 11,509    

*The kick-off times for the European away games and for the Final are all UK times.

League position is at the end of the day on which Everton played.

The end column indicates when a match was shown live on UK TV and on which channel.